Fondation Pierre Werner 2019 Scholarships

Fondation Pierre Werner

These scholarships are intended to support research and study projects relating to European unification, monetary questions, democracy or human rights in all countries of the European continent.


At the meeting of the Fondation Pierre Werner management committee held on May 3, 2019, it was decided to grant the Pierre Werner Grants for the year 2019 to three candidates. This decision was based on the opinion of the pre-selection jury from the University of Luxembourg, composed of Prof. Isabelle Riassetto, Prof. Benny Mantin, Prof. Jörg Gerkrath and Prof. Katalin Ligeti.


The successful candidates are:


  • Ms. Jasmin Hiry (Germany), with the subject “The Evolution of the Rights of Initiative in the European Union.”


  • Ms. Simona Demkova (Slovakia), with the subject “Proceduralisation of individual rights enforcement in European composite procedures - the study of information cooperation.”


  • Ms. Marie Gérardy (Belgium), with the subject “Market regulatory governance through standard setting and free trade agreements.”



On Monday 19 October 2020, the University of Luxembourg's Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance held a virtual event to officially announce and congratulate the 2019 laureates of the Pierre Werner Foundation Scholarship. Read more about the event here.


Fondation de Luxembourg. All rights reserved