Fondation Pierre Werner 2021 Scholarships

Fondation Pierre Werner

The Fondation Pierre Werner scholarships are intended to support research and study projects relating to European unification, monetary questions, democracy or human rights in all countries of the European continent.


At the meeting of the Fondation Pierre Werner management committee held on June 30, 2021, it was decided to grant the Pierre Werner Scholarships for the year 2021 to four candidates. This decision was based on the opinion of the pre-selection jury from the University of Luxembourg, composed of Prof. Dr. Katalin Ligeti, Prof. Dr. David Howarth, Prof. Dr. Joana Mendes, and Prof. Dr. Pierre Picard.


The successful candidates for 2021 are: 


  • Moritz Rehm (Germany), with his thesis, “A Century of Crises: The Development of EU Financial Assistance in the Past and Present.”


  • Branimir Stanimirov (Bulgaria), with his thesis, "Stalled Democracy: Europeanization, Democratic Backsliding and the Rule of Law in the EU's Multi-Level System. The Case of Bulgaria's Judicial Reforms (2001-2021).”


  • Pier Mario Lipinu (Italy), with his thesis, “Legal Constraints to the Provision of Liquidity Post-Resolution in the Euro Area: A Critical Analysis.”


  • Silvia Peracchi (Italy), with her thesis, “Essays on the Economics of International Migration."


Fondation de Luxembourg. All rights reserved